► Hong Kong, Hong Kong …

Hong Kong is Home.

I remember when I first arrived in Hong Kong almost a decade ago, I felt like I had walked into an actual movie set. It was a place that I had only seen on TV as a kid, with its strange red taxi’s, odd stop lights and driving on the other side of the road.

My intent with this project was to illustrate the grandeur of Hong Kong that most people would never get to see. When I had recently watched the movie Oblivion, it had somehow starkly reminded me of Hong Kong, with the feeling of being so insignificantly small — almost irrelevant to my surroundings. Hong Kong is an unbelievably dense city, where much of the world can be accessed at your fingertips. But in a city where you can access the material world in a matter of seconds, it also has the ability to isolate you from the 8 million people around you as well.

With this piece, I hope that you are able to engage in this contradiction.

Javin Lau

Sürekli Hong Kong filmi yüklüyorum. sonunda gerçekten Hong Kong’la ilgili bir kısa film yüklemek istedim. Bazı yönleri ile oldukça tanıdık bile geldi …

2 thoughts on “► Hong Kong, Hong Kong …

    • Benim blog ana-akımdan (mainstream) uzak, marjinal takılır. Zaten bu postları yakalaşık 10 gün önceden zamanlıyorum, ne bileyim tam da bugüne ülkenin azacağını… böyle denk geldi şimdi. Ayrıca olaylar soğuyup herşey yerli yerine oturmadan yorum yapmamak en iyisi ;)

Leave a Reply

